Live Discussions

If a prerecorded talk on YouTube attracts your attention (prerecorded talks will be linked one week before the conference), you can either leave a comment below the video on YouTube, or talk to the speaker during a live discussion. In essence we are using the concept of "inverted classroom" for a research conference.

How do live discussions work?

  • There will be a 20 minute invited opening talk (live), followed by a 10 minute discussion.

  • Following the live talk there will be discussions of up to 3 prerecorded talks that participants can watch on YouTube before or during the conference. Contributed speakers will start to recall the content of their talk (about 2 minutes). The following open discussion (questions, suggestions, remarks, new ideas) is chaired by a moderator.

Everyone is welcome to join the discussions! Just give it a try! The sessions will not be recorded!

List of live discussions according to sessions

1. Stochastic analysis (Chairs: Max von Renesse, Mathias Beiglböck)

2. Spatial stochastics and random structures (Chairs: Peter Mörters, Matthias Reitzner)

3. Limit theorems, large deviations and extremes (Chairs: Anja Janssen, Hanna Döring)

4. Finance, insurance and risk: Modelling (Chairs: Kathrin Glau, Thomas Mikosch)

5. Finance, insurance and risk: Statistics (Chairs: Jeanette Wörner, Johanna Ziegel)

6. Stochastic modelling in biology (Chairs: Maite Wilke Berenguer, Martin Möhle)

7. Stochastic modelling in physics and engineering (Chairs: Silke Rolles, Volker Betz)

8. Stochastic optimization and operations research (Chairs: Nicole Bäuerle, Hanspeter Schmidli)

9. Stochastic processes: Theory and statistics (Chairs: Mark Podolskij, Alexander Schnurr)

10. Time series (Chairs: Carsten Jentsch, Axel Bücher)

11. Statistical learning and computational statistics (Chairs: Nicole Mücke, Michael Vogt)

12. Nonparametric and asymptotic statistics (Chairs: Ursula Müller, Tatyana Krivobokova)

13. Statistical methodology (Chairs: Alexander Meister, Mathias Trabs)

14. S(P)DEs: Theory and Numerics (Chairs: Arnulf Jentzen, Thomas Kruse)